849 Front Street, Suite 101, Evanston, WY 82930 • Ph: 307-789-6560 • Fax: 307-789-2700
Current E-Edition

Top Stories Sports Obits Opinion Rich County Outdoors Classifieds Home 

Community ‘comes together’ for annual awards banquet

Posted: Monday, Apr 21st, 2014

Chamber of Commerce board member Crystal Williams, decked out in “Come Together” themed attire, presents the Business of the Year award to Burley Williams and Steve Williams of Freeway Tire.

EVANSTON — Residents, volunteers, business owners and other members of the community came together on Friday night, to celebrate the fourth annual City of Evanston and Chamber of Commerce awards banquet.

This year’s theme was “Come Together,” and was a tribute to the Beatle’s and to Evanston’s business and volunteer community.

Chamber of Commerce board members dressed up in a variety of costumes from the sixties, to celebrate the theme, and to remind community members that it’s time to come together.

Master of ceremonies Mark Madia reflected on all the nominees for the various awards, and on the community involvement that makes Evanston a successful community.

The banquet paid tribute to those in Evanston whose efforts to help the community go above and beyond just living here. Those nominated celebrate those things that make Evanston a thriving community. They included a wide variety of people and businesses that work hard every day, going the extra mile for Evanston.

The first category, Business of the Year, had seven nominees: NGL Connection, Market Mailer, Fireside Total Indoor Comfort, Freeway Tire, Uinta County Herald, 1st. Bank, and Superior Rental. Freeway Tire was selected as the Business of the Year.

In the New Chamber Member of the Year category, five businesses vied for the award: Boys and Girls Club of Evanston, Moonflower Yoga, Serendipity Books, Antiques & Coffee Shop, Evanston Farmers Market and Evanston Rotary Club. The winner was Moonflower Yoga.

Service Organization of the Year nominees were Uinta County Business Leadership Network & MentorABILITY, Evanston Area Community Foundation, Uinta BOCES #1, Evanston Rotary Club, Soroptimist International of Evanston and Angels Among Us. The award went to Angels Among Us.

Five people stood out in the Outstanding Business Person of the Year category. They were: Chuck Straw, Linda Biffert, Seyed Yadegari, Karen Cook, and Cathleen Wiggins.

The winner was Seyed Yadegari of 1st Bank.

A combination of businesses and people rounded out the ten nominations for Outstanding Customer Service of the Year: Nancy Van Syoc, Karen Cook, Best Western/Dunmar, KFC/ Taco Bell, Robert Richmond, Jody’s Diner, Smith’s Food & Drug, Bridgette Hartley, Whitney Gunn, and Subway. The winner was the staff at Smith’s Food & Drug.

Four people were nominated for the Lifetime Business Achievement Award: Steve Russell, Uinta Realty/Denny Ottley, Freeway Tire/Burley Williams and Arrowhead Dental. The winner was Denny Ottley. His son Tib accepted the award on his behalf.

City of Evanston Volunteer of the Year award nominees were: Kay Rossiter, Diane Richins, Teresa O’Dell, Deborah Demander, Ron Wild, Becky Crum, and Elissa Wilson. Elissa Wilson was awarded the recognition as the Volunteer of the Year.

Finally, City of Evanston Citizen of the Year nominees were: James W. “Scotty” Anderson, Tim Beppler, Joy Bell, Crystal Williams, Wanda Rogers, Steve Russell, and Deborah Demander. Crystal Williams was chosen as Citizen of the Year.

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal