849 Front Street, Suite 101, Evanston, WY 82930 • Ph: 307-789-6560 • Fax: 307-789-2700
Current E-Edition

Top Stories Sports Obits Opinion Rich County Outdoors Classifieds Home 

Council welcomes Rex, returning members Jan. 8

Posted: Friday, Jan 11th, 2013

Newly-elected Evanston City Council member Curtis Rex, far left, addressed those in attendance at the board’s Jan. 8 session after he and returning councilors Evan Perkes, Tim Lynch and Saundra Meyer were sworn in by City Clerk Jim Davis. HERALD PHOTO/Matt Roberts

EVANSTON — The Evanston City Council welcomed a new member to its ranks just prior to its regular meeting Tuesday, Jan. 8, as well as a trio of returning members.

Curtis Rex, who defeated Roy Landes Nov. 6 to capture an open two-year seat in the city’s Ward II, said he was grateful to be on the board.

“I’m grateful for the opportunity to serve the folks from my ward,” Rex said after the swearing in ceremony, “but also the city at large, and all of you who work full time for the city. Some of you have come up and said, ‘Oh, you’re my new boss.’ But no, I’m not the boss. I’m just a servant. As a public servant, I’m happy to be here.”

Also sworn in were Evan Perkes, of Ward III, who ran unopposed for re-election; Tim Lynch, who defeated Scott Wilcox in the general election to retain his four-year Ward I post; and Saundra Meyer, who had served in the Ward II two-year seat but defeated Chris Thatcher Nov. 6 to gain the four-year spot for her ward.

The council also approved a slate of city department head re-appointments, as well as appointments to boards and commissions.

Reappointed as city department heads were:

• Jon Kirby, chief of police

• Paul Knopf, director of planning and development

• Brian Honey, director of public works and city engineer

• Kathy Defa, city treasurer

• Jim Davis, director of administrative services and city clerk

• Dennis Boal, city attorney

• Paul Skog, assistant city attorney and city prosecutor

• Mark Harris, municipal court judge

• Ammon Francom, assistant municipal court judge

Appointments to boards and commissions were:

• Rich Carver, Airport Joint Powers Board

• Dave Welling, Emergency Services Joint Powers Board

• Wendy Schuler, Golf Course Advisory Board

• Joy Bell, Human Services Joint Powers Board

• James Cottrell, Lodging Tax Board

• Eric Mander and John Holderegger, Planning and Zoning Commission

• Ann Cazin, Debbie Liechty, Margaret Lester and Sue Vehar, Preservation Commission

• Trudy Lym, Revolving Loan Fund Board

• Drew Stroberg, Kendra Cagle, Alan Griffin and Lori Henderson, Tree Board

• Janyne Leland, Urban Renewal Board

Councilor Tim Lynch was reapproved by the board to serve as its president for 2013. Lynch was nominated by Saundra Meyer.

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal