849 Front Street, Suite 101, Evanston, WY 82930 • Ph: 307-789-6560 • Fax: 307-789-2700
Current E-Edition

Top Stories Sports Obits Opinion Rich County Outdoors Classifieds Home 

Rex wins council seat; Thatcher ousted Nov. 6

Posted: Friday, Nov 9th, 2012

Voter Tim Vandreew listens as election official Debbie Nees explains the procedures he needs to follow to register on election day Nov. 6 at the Machine Shop in Evanston. HERALD PHOTO/Matt Roberts


Herald Managing Editor

EVANSTON — Curtis Rex defeated Roy Landes for an open two-year position on the Evanston City Council in the Nov. 6 general election, and Chris Thatcher, who was appointed to the board in 2011 and was facing city voters for the first time in a general election, was soundly defeated by Saundra Meyer, a current councilor and former state legislator.

Rex captured 847 votes to gain the Ward II seat, to Landes’ 662, according to unofficial results provided by the Uinta County Clerk’s office.

“I am at once deeply humbled and honored,” Rex wrote the Herald in an email after the election. “Representing the good people of Ward 2 and the city of Evanston at large is a daunting task. I will do my best to apply reason, experience and diligence to the task. I hope to create an open dialogue with the people and welcome their input and suggestions. …The world we live in is full of challenges, but together we can address them in a way that will bless our lives and the lives of the next generation. Evanston is a wonderful place to live and to raise a family.”

Rex noted he can be reached at cdwyo2@msn.com.

Meyer, already on the council representing Ward II in the two-year post won by Rex, entered the race for Thatcher’s four-year position as a write-in candidate after Thatcher was charged with marijuana possession June 14. Thatcher pleaded guilty to the charge July 17 and received a suspended sentence with unsupervised probation.

Meyer handily defeated Thatcher Nov. 6, nearly two-to-one, 1,216 to 436.

Thatcher was sworn in March 30 to fill the seat vacated by Bruce Whiting; this was her first attempt to retain the seat.

Councilor Tim Lynch retained his four-year Ward II seat, topping challenger Scott Wilcox 852 to 538.

And Ward III’s Evan Perkes, who ran unopposed, received 920 votes.

Uinta County School

Board No. 1

The Evanston school board will feature several new faces in the coming term, as well as the departure of two incumbents.

Dave Bennett and Kay Fackrell, both of whom recently retired from the district, as high school principal and activities director, respectively, were successful in their bids to gain seats on the school board. Fackrell received 3,130 votes, while Bennett received 2,855.

Local media personality Mark Madia was also given the nod by voters to join the board, with 2,628 votes.

Julie Burleigh, who received 2,008 votes, was the only incumbent to retain her seat on the panel. Both Harriet Beck, with 1,553 votes, and Orrin Martin, with 1,528 votes, did not make the cut of the top four in the race.

Other candidates in the race included Bridger Feuz, 1,258; Chris S. Katzl, 785; and Bryant Voss, 1,240.

Bear River

Incumbent Bear River Mayor Robin Rhodes was narrowly defeated in his reelection bid by challenger Troy Nolan. Rhodes received 130 votes to Nolan’s 144.

In the race for a pair of four-year terms on the Bear River Town Council, incumbent Brian Stokes retained his post, while Ron Hornibrook was defeated. Jennifer McMurtrey captured the second seat. Stokes received 161 votes; Hornibrook received 104; McMurtrey claimed 134 votes; and Everett Stiegelmeyer received 104.

Lyman Town Council

Kyle Eyre and Bronson Berg were the winners of a pair of four-year seats on the Lyman Town Council. Eyre received 514, while Berg received 463. Candidates Ralph Bradshaw and Richard Kidd were also in contention for the board, receiving 309 and 323 votes, respectively.

Uinta County School

District No. 6

A field of seven candidates vied for three four-year seats on the Uinta County School District No. 6 board in Lyman. Chad E. Martin, Todd Rollins and Bart Lyman were the top vote-getters, netting 736, 623 and 561 votes, respectively, to capture the positions.

Other candidates included Mike Ellison, with 443 votes; Dan Jay Covolo, 431; Eric Quinney, 393; and Kenneth Allen, 310.

A pair of unexpired two-year seats on the school board went to James D. Eyre, who received 668 votes, and Sherri Bluemel, with 630, edging out Nathan Tait Heaton, who gathered 624. Candidate Dana Vercimak received 498.

Mountain View mayor

Mountain View Mayor Scott Dellinger, who ran unopposed in his bid to retain his post in both the primary and general elections, received 468 votes Nov. 6.

Mountain View Town Council

Incumbent Scott Sidwell, along with newcomer Gina Tims, earned four-year seats on the Mountain View Town Council Nov. 6, being the top two vote-getters in the race for the board, with 331 and 266 votes, respectively.

Candidate Bryan Ayres claimed 215 votes, while Lacee Bernard received 155.

Uinta County School

District No. 4

All three candidates for four-year terms on the Uinta County School District No. 4 board in Mountain View — Deb Hovde, Tony Layson, Jr., and Mark Walker — were confirmed, with votes of 933, 1,014 and 969.

Kelly Q. Carpenter ran unopposed for the unexpired two-year term, garnering 1,279 votes.

Wyoming Legislature

State Senate District 14 Republican incumbent Stan Cooper was the only area legislator who faced a challenger in the general election. Cooper posted a commanding win over Wyoming Country Party challenger John Vincent Love, 6,766 to 978, according to unofficial results.

Garry Piiparinen, who defeated incumbent representative Clarence Vranish in the primary election, was unopposed in the general election, as was Allen Jaggi, House District 19, and Kathleen Davison, House District 18.

Uinta County Commission

Republican incumbent Craig Welling was unopposed in the general election Nov. 6.

Judicial retention

Both circuit court judges up for retention votes this election survived the vote. Daniel L. Forgey was reconfirmed 5,921 votes to 1,516, while Michael Greer received 6,443 yes votes and 1,403 no votes.

Uinta County Conservation District

Both Spencer Eyre, with 5,270 votes, and Dennis Cornelison, with 5,218, will take seats on the Uinta County Conservation District.

Uinta County Rural Fire District

Uinta County Rural Fire District candidates Dan Lunsford, with 1,169 votes, and Garie M. Henry, with 1,083, were elected to the district board. Also running was William W. Johnson, who received 850 votes.

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal